Warner Music Nashville celebrated three wins and four performances at Wednesday night’s 56th Annual CMA Awards. First-time winner Cody Johnson earned Video of the Year and Single of the Year wins for his multi-week No. 1 hit “‘Til You Can’t.” Ashley McBryde, the 2019 CMA New Artist of the Year, took home the trophy for Musical Event alongside Carly Pearce for their duet “Never Wanted To Be That Girl.” 

Johnson said of his win for Single of the Year, “Ben Stennis and Matt Rodgers wrote, in my opinion, one of the greatest country music songs of all time, and I’m just so blessed to have it in my hands. Trent Willmon and Jack Clarke… might be the greatest producer and the greatest engineer in the business. I’m so grateful to be here. God bless country music. Thank you so much.” 

“When we wrote ‘Never Wanted To Be That Girl,’ we wanted to tell the story from both perspectives without placing blame,” said McBryde. “It’s a huge honor that the country music community has recognized it the way they have. Thank you to everyone at our labels who fought for this song to be heard.” 

Warner Music Nashville performances filled the first act of the evening, beginning with McBryde, Brandy Clark, Caylee Hammack and Pillbox Patti teaming up for a cover of Linda Ronstadt’s “When Will I Be Loved” from Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville. Johnson performed his 2x Platinum smash and now Single of the Year “‘Til You Can’t.” Cole Swindell brought his five-week No. 1 record-breaker “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” to the stage alongside special guest Jo Dee Messina, whose “Heads Carolina, Tails Carolina” inspired the new hit. Finally, Zac Brown Band rocked the arena with “Out In The Middle” featuring Marcus King and Jimmie Allen. 

Warner Music Nashville’s Charlie Worsham, a member of Dierks Bentley’s touring band, joined Bentley on stage during the tribute to CMA Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Alan Jackson. BRELAND joined the show to present the Chevrolet partnership segment.